Traveling Through Time…

”We’re all traveling through time together, every day of our lives. All we can do is do our best to relish this remarkable ride.  And in the end I think I’ve learned the final lesson from my travels in time; and I’ve even gone one step further than my father did: The truth is I now don’t travel back at all, not even for the day, I just try to live every day as if I’ve deliberately come back to this one day, to enjoy it, as if it was the full final day of my extraordinary, ordinary life.” – About Time

 

Image

Time is a funny thing, and it’s something we tend to waste so carelessly. We don’t grasp every moments breath, we don’t admire things that our before our eyes, but instead we dwell in the mind, and get lost in the thoughts. We cling to our past moments, our wrong choices, and our “would have, could have, should have” moments. We are so overwhelmed with what lies behind us, instead of what is held right in front of us. We could be staring at the most beautiful piece of nature, a sunset, a full moon, a blooming flower, yet all we can think about is our daily plan, and how it’s going to completely consume us. I have tried to be more present, in the moment, practicing clearing my mind, and thinking of this idea of time. If I look behind, I only see how far I’ve come, and when I look ahead, I see the many opportunities that can be grasped. And even if I can’t seem to find my place, and two doors are slamming in my face, I know that somewhere, new doors will follow. So for now, I will free myself, and love every moment I am given to try again. I hope that tomorrow, you will wake up with me, and really engulf yourself in the present moments, ignoring just for a moment, all that the past holds, and even all that the future will hold, and just be present. 

Image

2 thoughts on “Traveling Through Time…

  1. The present is really all that we have. We’re so consumed with what could happen or what has happened, that we forget that life is happening right now. This moment. And if we can’t pull ourselves out of that we will miss out on a lot of things. Like this beautiful day in the park.

  2. Such wonderful words of wisdom! We never know what our future holds, and we shouldn’t live in our past, so our present is what we should be paying attention to, and relish each and every moment we have been given. Life is truly a gift to be treasured! 🙂

Leave a Reply

