Quest. . .

” It’s messing people up, this social pressure to “find your passion” and “know what it is you want to do”. It’s perfectly fine to just live your moments fully, and marvel as many small and large passions, many small and large purposes enter and leave your life. For many people there is no realization, no bliss to follow, no discovery of your life’s purpose. This isn’t sad, it’s just the way things are. Stop trying to find the forest and just enjoy the trees.”

 -A comment on the Humans Of New York Facebook page

Social pressure is at an all time high, and it seems people often get lost in it. We are forced to pick something that will fulfill us for our entire lives. But will our passions now, be our future passions? I think the purpose of life is not to find only one passion, but to dip our toes into the depth of the ocean and find things that scare us, but also fulfill us in a strange way. Passions have many forms and are ever-changing, at least for me. My passion was dance, and has evolved into health and fitness. But can I say those are my only passions in life? No, I have a passion for reading endless books, and writing. So instead of letting society shove some nonsense down your throat, no matter what age you are, there is always time to go on a quest and find your true passions. Discover that inner light that wants to shine so brightly, and “just enjoy the trees.”

Image

10 thoughts on “Quest. . .

  1. Ummmm, how is it that I feel like you wrote this for me? 🙂 Here I am…..almost 47 (August) and I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. There are so many MANY things I like to do….. I’m always learning something new, and that’s a good thing! 🙂 Hopefully one day, I can make a living doing all these things….or at least a few of them! lol 😀

    • Because you are totally NOT ALONE!!! But just think about how well rounded you are. People sit in jobs they are miserable at, and here you are actually living, enjoying each passion which comes your way. You are amazing, and your quest will be fulfilling, I know it!

  2. I love the idea of dipping our toes into the ocean!!! Dance is a total passion of mine, too and HELLO, YOU’RE FABULOUS and sooooo incredible at inspiring people!!! XOXO!!!!

  3. I refuse to let society dictate terms of life to me. I won’t let anyone define me, either. Life is about experiences on our journey, and to try many is the spice of life. Each day we live, each day we try something new, each day we grow and that is how I go through life. Although, I must say that my food choices for most of my life have not abided by mantra – but that changed as well. 🙂

  4. I think we all have some passions that are lifelong and others that lay dormant and surface from time to time. I know a lot of my passions have changed but there are a few that seem to be forever. Interesting how those forever passions have been around my whole life and the others haven’t.

Leave a Reply

