To Judge And Be Judged

“In order to get rid of your slippers, you have to admit they are yours, and if you do, then they will get rid of themselves…The key to your happiness is to own your slippers, own who you are, own your family, own the talents you have, and own the ones you don’t. If you keep saying your slippers aren’t yours, then you’ll die searching, you’ll die bitter, always feeling you were promised more. Not only our actions, but also our omissions, become our destiny.”  -Abraham Verghese

This quote rather intrigued me because I don’t know of many people who can completely “own” who they are. I find that there are far more people who would rather judge instead of reflecting their own energy inwards. Everybody can be judged for something they did, but if we spend all our energy focusing on that, then we’ll waste all our time. I found myself from time to time dividing the world into good and bad, right and wrong, and I thought by doing this, I would steer myself in a direction away from the bad and wrong. But I find now that I just placed myself into the judging category, when in fact it was not my job to do so. It was almost a fear, and being afraid to just love who I am, and own that I am who I am, and it doesn’t matter who I come in contact with. When I judge others, I am also judging myself. Judging limits us and hold us back. You need to set yourself free, and others as well. You have to learn to look inward and be in love with yourself, where you are right now, where you have already been, and who you are. Own your slipper, and embrace the inner beauty of your inner self.

1a511ae3dac4008961ca0a9c5c4bdfb1

17 thoughts on “To Judge And Be Judged

  1. We can all be judged, but we don’t have to accept anyone’s verdict.

    I try not to judge, but as a parent, we teach right and wrong. At times, there are examples that we use, and unfortunately, we judge as a result. So, that’s the challenge for me, to be able to set an example, teach right from wrong, without being judgmental.

  2. This is very good advice and would like to say that I am not judgmental, but it just isn’t true. I definitely am working on it even harder now that my daughter is at the age where she mimics everything I do. I want to teach by example and I want her to grow up to be a kind person. It’s good to hear a reminder like this. Thank you!

    • Its so difficult in this society to not be judgmental. Everyone is so quick to label, even just the small jabs here and there. I can’t imagine parenting and trying to set an example all the time. Glad you enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

