Unlock Forgotten Memories

“Nothing is more memorable than a smell. One scent can be unexpected, momentary, and fleeting, yet conjure up a childhood summer beside a lake in the mountains…”

Have you ever stood waiting in a store and familiar scent had passed you by? At that moment you can almost closer your eyes and envision that exact time in your life where you first related to that scent. The smell of coffee, for instance reminds me of mornings. But this scent I’m referring to is a deeper connection. The smell of someone’s perfume or cologne, or the body wash they use. This instance happened to me this morning when I was waiting in the deli for my food to be ready. Someone was standing behind me, and I just closed my eyes and saw memories flash before my eyes. They were so vivid, as if I was experiencing them all over again. It was mind boggling to me that this single minute invoked all these feelings with just one whiff of a familiar scent.  Memories which we thought were lost are now unlocked. It not only brought up the first initial time I had been introduced to that scent, but it went much deeper then that. These moments in life, where these mystical things happen, can either bring us great happiness, or bring us back to some of our saddest moments. But I am certainly grateful for the place that this familiar scent has brought me. It is a reminder not only of how far I have come, but how much I would not want to go back to where I was. The beauty of life, and the power of a single scent to unlock our deepest forgotten memories.

 

4 thoughts on “Unlock Forgotten Memories

  1. The smell of polenta cooking reminds me of my childhood at my grandmother’s home. I can see her stirring the ceramic pot, and I can ‘see’ the canaries in their cages. I remember where the kitchen table was, and the wicker chairs in her sunroom. All of that through the wonderful scent of polenta. 🙂

  2. Ohh, I love this!! What a great way to reflect on past times!! I always love reading your posts!! I really reflect upon my past!! The smell of chlorine really makes me want to swim!!! Tehehe!!

Leave a Reply

