Stages of Life

“In the end, these things matter most: How well did you love? How fully did you live? How deeply did you let go?” – Buddha

It has been a hectic two weeks for me, hence my absence. I was fortunate enough this evening to get a moment of solitude in the park near my house. I was able to completely empty my mind, and write freely. I have never shared my writing here, but here goes nothing!!

A gentle warm breeze fills the air as the sun starts to dim down behind the trees. The lamp posts flicker on and the sounds of gravel brushing off the runners shoes sound the park. The lake is rippling from the breeze, but it still looks completely calm. I am propped up on a bench under a tree which is swaying. I gaze far out beyond the lake to the other side and reminisce. I am brought back to a time which clouds my mind with compelling memories but I quickly forced them out of my head. Lovers stroll holding hands, as lovers tend to do. But I am more interested in the runners, and what has brought them here to this park tonight. Is it the same intentions I have brought with me, in hopes to escape bad memories, or is it the solitude of this summer night?  When I close my eyes, I can bring myself to any place, but still I am brought to these same memories again.  The harder I pushed them away, the faster they came plummeting in my lap.

My question for you today, which is a self reflection, “how well do you love, how fully do you life, and how deeply do you let go?”13e598c266c4f83866e047631753ed38

6 thoughts on “Stages of Life

  1. I’m afraid that my answers at the end of my life would be that I could’ve done better. That may be a reflection of the world that I live in right now and is subject to change. Getting caught up a bit more than I’d like in the here and now and being more task driven than spiritual. Hopefully that will change.

  2. beautifully written! I find the same thing happening to me, I think it happens to all of us. I read that to overcome this, we just need to let the thoughts run through us instead of forcing them out. I love extremely well, and live almost to the fullest(room for improvement) but I do not deeply let go. I have a habit of holding on to things that I know I need to let go, memories being one of them. thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

