Starting New. . .

“The only person you are destined to become is the person you decide to be.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Starting new is an idea a few friends have asked me for advice about. They had this idea of picking up and moving away to start new. I tried to wrap my head around it, but I just don’t see it as starting new. They were trying to escape, bad jobs, daily routines, etc. Moving away to them felt like an easier way to recreate themselves. For me, if they just escaped that bad job, or tried a different routine, they would be creating new moments, which would make a new identity for themselves. Moving away, doesn’t create change within yourself, but you can alter the way new people see you. I meet someone new in a new place, I can literally be whoever I want to be. They don’t know me, and I can establish myself in a different way. But is that really who you are, is it who you are pretending to be, or is it how you would like to see yourself? Everyday that you wake up, you have moments throughout the day to recreate yourself, if you choose to make the effort. Change doesn’t happen overnight, and certainly moving somewhere new doesn’t solve it. How often do we let a routine get the best of us? How often do we say, “oh tomorrow i’ll do that differently?” Tomorrow rolls around, and we have another excuse lined up. People love comfort, and to move outside the comfort zone takes extreme commitment. Starting anything new always is scary, and people tend to run back for the fear they won’t adjust. But if you really think back in your life you will see, you always adjusted, it just takes some time.Β 

8d9994cc2ef7faf1f50ffcb0038dc87b

9 thoughts on “Starting New. . .

  1. This reminds me of a quote: “The only really exciting things in life require more courage than we currently have. Deep breath and a leap. The kind of fear that you’re taking about…sometimes it’s how you know what’s worth while”

Leave a Reply

